top of page

Emergency Preparedness from
So Cal Edison

click HERE

Advocacy Groups and More


California has 21 regional centers with more than 40 offices located throughout the state that serve individuals with developmental disabilities and their families.

Map of Regional Centers (PDF)

Lookup Regional Centers in Los Angeles County by ZIP Code

Services in the San Gabriel Valley (SG/PRC)

The San Gabriel/Pomona Regional Center (SG/PRC) is one of 21 regional centers in California operated by private nonprofit corporations which contract with the State Department of Developmental Services to coordinate services for people with developmental disabilities. Each regional center is governed by a Board of Directors that sets policy and direction for the regional center. The SG/PRC Board of Directors is made up of volunteers from the community. The composition of the Board as defined by the Lanterman Developmental Disabilities Services Act, shall be composed of at least 50 percent parents and/or persons with developmental disabilities.

Definition of a Developmental Disability
According to State law, a developmental disability is a disability attributable to intellectual disability, cerebral palsy, epilepsy and autism. This term also includes handicapping conditions found to be closely related to intellectual disability, formerly mental retardation. The disability must have originated before the age of 18, be expected to continue indefinitely, and constitute a substantial handicap for the individual. A developmental disability does not include solely physical, learning, and psychiatric conditions.

San Gabriel/Pomona Regional Center provides services to individuals who have the following:

  • Intellectual disability

  • Cerebral palsy

  • Epilepsy

  • Autism

  • Other conditions closely related to intellectual disability.

In addition, persons who have a high risk of parenting a child with a developmental disability are eligible for regional center services.

Also eligible are those infants and toddlers ages birth to 36 months for whom a need for early intervention services is documented and who meet criteria in one of the following categories:

  • Infants and toddlers with developmental delay

  • Infants and toddlers with established risk conditions

  • Infants and toddlers who are at high risk of becoming developmentally disabled.

 San Gabriel/Pomona Regional Center

 Lanterman Regional Center

California's Regional Centers


Pacific ADA Center

Californians for Disability Rights

Disability Resource Agency for Independent Living

Disability Rights Advocates

Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund

Disability Rights Legal Center

Each Mind Matters

The Campaign for Justice

Department of Developmental Services (DDS)

The California Department of Developmental Services is the agency through which the State of California provides services and supports to individuals with developmental disabilities.

These disabilities include intellectual disability, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, autism and related conditions. Services are provided through state-operated developmental centers and community facilities, and contracts with 21 nonprofit regional centers. The regional centers serve as a local resource to help find and access the services and supports available to individuals with developmental disabilities and their families.

Information About Services

More Information About Programs and Services

Who Is Eligible For Services

Information About DDS

For Department of Developmental Services Appeal info, go to or call at (916) 654-1987.

For Department of Developmental Services Appeal info, go to or call at (916) 654-1987

Other Resources

We Build Opportunities 
for Discovery, Choice and Self-Determination
bottom of page